I’m not sure how I feel about using Internet sources for my papers. I like to use scholarly journals and things like that, and some of the pages I used to the History of Valentine’s Day paper, make me feel a little uneasy. The only site that I did not feel uncomfortable using was the History Channel website, because I assume that they have to have the correctly facts because they are widely publicized and held to a different standard then Joe Shmo’s web-page.

            Do not get me wrong, I love the Internet, and use it constantly, but I always back up things I research with something that has been published by a credible source. I learned a lot by doing this assignment, but facts on certain websites did not match facts on other websites, and then it came down for me to decide what to use.  Some websites I opened, and then went back to Google, because they looked like an 8thgrader designed them; which I shouldn’t really complain about, because I would not even know where to start in creating a web-page.

            What concerns me the most is that I used sites that I was uncomfortable with, and information that I’m not positive is correct. My post is now online, and I am in essence doing what I fear other people do, posting information that could or couldn’t be solidly based in historical fact.  Sometimes I wonder if what is on the web isn’t all just a bunch of reiterated information, that was never true, but so widely dispersed that people believe it to be true. That is why I think it is so important for historians to a- use work that is citable and credible, and b- make sure that they themselves are published by a reputable publisher or web organization, because otherwise people like me are skeptical to use their work.