My experience finding photos of Camp American University and Camp Leach was frustrating because I could not find multiple sources. The best source for these pictures was the Photograph and Print Division on the American University Library website, naturally the school’s archives holds the rights to these pictures. What was frustrating was that I could find only one other site that had a photo of the engineers. The Washington Post had numerous articles on the camps but no photos to accompany those articles.

I used Google as my starting point, but quickly found that I need to search archives and library websites. Because my subject is relatively old, and not well known, google did not retrieve many images. The American University History Site turned out to be the best site for photos, though there were not a lot.  It seems to me that there is a shortage of these photos because most of them are written on, and usually when a source is digitized it is the copy that is in the best condition. Because the engineers were working in the chemical division, the work they did was probably classified or at least secretive, extensive photography of scientist developing chemicals was not possible. The fact that in 2001 chemical cylinders were dug up under American University property is tell tale signs that the work being done was not for the public eyes.

Another problem that I had with this assignment was linking the photographs back to the website they came from. This is a technical problem that I personally have to work out, because it will make it easier for the reader who is viewing my site. I also ran into some problems when using the pictures because a lot were not linked directly back to the site they came from. This was not a big speed hump, but it was annoying.There also wasn’t alot of information accompanied with the photo. I could not do lots of captions- that were extensive because I don’t know who the men are. I just know where they are and what they are doing.